What's new
What's new

Supermax YCM-16VS Knocking Noise in Head

FloppyDisk

Plastic
Max Ain't Feeling Well

I'm a noob and I have a 1988 Supermax YCM-16VS w/ an Anilam Crusader M controller that I bought 'new' in April this year. Took me months to get power, 3 phase converter, etc. to be able to power up and get running. I have been able to scare up manuals, some from Tim Podgwaite (thank you sir!) regarding the Crusader M and one from YCM on the mechanics. If anyone needs a manual, I can fwd...

Was ready to start making chips last weekend, turned on the spindle and I heard a nasty knocking noise. The spindle had seemed to work without the knocking noise the 2-3 times I had it on before. I had a machinist from work over to check out the machine (before the knocking noise) and we ran it a good 10 minutes w/ out any issues. But, we did fiddle w/ the power draw bar and had issues making it work. I replaced the air lines, regulator and other pieces w/ new and it seems to work better. But, now I have the knocking noise...

I have uploaded a video to youtube w/ some of the things that I tried and you can hear the knocking: Max Not Feeling Well - YouTube
One machinist at work suggested I try running it in neutral.

Last night, I worked the Hi - N- Lo lever in an effort to see if it was 'out of gear' and see if I could eliminate the knocking. Since any access into the head involves removing the motor, I have removed the assembly Cover just beneath the motor to have access to the drive belt, motor shaft and motor pulley. In N, I could manually spin the spindle and then spin the motor shaft and the knocking noise would go away and then come back and then go away, etc. as I rotated the 3 HP motor drive shaft. Very strange. Seems to validate that the knocking noise would happen on HI and then not.

Some Observations
It seems to knock in low - nearly always. Although, I didn't power up last night.