What's new
What's new

What are the advantages/disadvantages of using larger indexable tool holders?

pcortes

Plastic
I'm not a professional. I've been using an 8x12 lathe for about 10 years, but I just bought a 13x40 lathe and I'm in the process of buying tooling. It came with a 200 series Aloris clone and I want to buy some indexable tool holders. My first thought was to buy the biggest tools that would fit in the holders, because they would presumably be more rigid, but then I started to wonder if there would be any downside. Obviously a larger boring bar wouldn't fit into smaller bores, but are there any disadvantages to larger tools when turning outside diameters?

Thanks for you help.

Obvious disadvantage with larger tool-holders is access when turning stepped components such as bobbin shapes with large ends and smaller centre section.

When doing smaller between centres work a large tool may hit the centre before the job is down to size. Especially with revolving centres. Half centre or interchangeable centre sets with extended point inserts are work arounds but the interchangeable breed aren't exceptionally accurate and half centres sacrifice support for access.

If using smaller tools in larger QC holders make up some sharp edged L fillers to bring the smaller toolholder central under the clamp bolts when tool and filler are firmly pushed to the back of the slot. Sensible to make the bottom of the filler the right thickness to compensate for the difference in tool tip height to tool shank base so that you don't need to futz with toolholder heights when switching insert tools.