What's new
What's new

what is more common, a M12 x 1.25 or M12 x 1.5 bolt ?

i_r_machinist

Titanium
I have some tooling to make for Siemens for generator work. I have several prints that call for "M12 threaded hole". I called one of their engineers for clarity. Can't get an answer. These holes are for lifting brackets, so I assume they will use whatever bolt is handiest, so....
What is more common, a M12 x 1.25 or M12 x 1.5 bolt ?
thanks
i_r_

I expect that a hole for a lifting bracket would use standard M12 which is 1.75 mm pitch. I see no reason to use a fine thread for that purpose.
Also, when a drawing only states M12, it's standard pitch, otherwise it would be explicitly stated on the drawing.

Benta.

Well, M12 is confusing. M12 x 1.75 is the coarse thread size. M12 x 1.5 is the fine thread size. And M12 x 1.25 is the extra fine. I have no real experience with any number of these, but McMaster seems to stock more of the M12 x 1.75, coarse thread so, with no other information, I would go by that one.

An M12 threaded hole if described in exactly that way means that it is a standard M12 thread, which is 1.75.

If any other pitch is required it must be stated. If it is not stated it is standard.

This question arises very frequently on this website, it would almost qualify for a sticky note.

Over here in Metricland if the spec is just type and nominal size (i.e. metric 12 mm a.k.a bog standard M12) it`s understood to be from the metric coarse range.

As such your M12 has a pitch of 1,75 mm.

ANY German (or other European for that matter) engineer just specifying M12 and expecting anything else then M12 x 1,75 from the metric coarse range deserves a kick in the bollocks.