What's new
What's new

Who here machines for a living?

hickstick_10

Stainless
Im kind of curious who here machines for their bread and butter. Besides John Welden and a couple others I have no idea who here machines for a living and who is a hobbiest.

If you do feed yourself by cuttin' metal, please sound off and tell me/us about what you make and how you like it.

Doesn't matter if your self employed, papered journeyman or self taught. As long as you are CURRENTLY USING MACHINE TOOLS FULL TIME and SOMEONE IS PAYING YOU to do it, Id like to hear it.

I am talking about guys who are going to work and know they will be machining something or doing something machine tool related such as repair or programing. Sorry for the long winded explanation but I know sooner or later someone whos pulled over to take a dump at a Haas dealership will be posting about his machining experience unless the criteria are specific.

I do it for a living and have for about 12 years. The last 7 on my own. Supporting a family of 6 with no outside income. Started from scratch for 20K and a $500 a month building lease.

I've been putting the food on the table carving stuff out of metal and stickin it together with heat since 1978 full time. The trade has been pretty good to me. I can say that I'm one lucky guy to have worked for others for a fair wage, and never been out of work and it looks like I can retire in a few more years.

Self employed watch prototyper here. Make the parts and then put the watch together- I'm a trained watchmaker and well-mentored machinist. Haven't had an endmill in the machine over .3mm in the last 4 days, very small stuff. Tolerances on the prints plus/minus 3 microns all over the place. Turned parts are all manual, milled parts are done in a small CNC. Working like crazy, might just dig out of the hole created in '09 if this keeps up a few more years.