What's new
What's new

Why did jig grinders replace jig borers?

jscpm

Titanium
I never quite understood why jig grinders replaced jig borers. Grinders definitely generate more heat, which is bad.

I guess the borer does not have the problem that you have to deal with cutting tool geometry. And you can do outside diameters.

Hi jscpm:
Back in the day, when I was a greenhorn apprentice, the common "precision" hole making machine was the turret mill with all of its obvious limitations.

Getting truly accurately positioned holes on a turret mill was and remains a crap shoot, so for anything that needed to be better, a jig borer was the ticket.

But getting holes of excellent geometric fidelity is harder on a machine that tears away a relatively large chip with a positive rake tool than it is on a grinder which makes many small chips with negative rake cutting edges on a tool that can be balanced, can be dressed to run perfectly concentrically, and can take tiny chips without skating over the workpiece.
It can also cut hardened materials in a way that could not be otherwise processed back when jig grinders were precision kings.

I started my apprenticeship back when Valenite was the principal supplier of carbide tooling and they were awful compared to the modern offerings, so hard milling and hard turning were fantasies.
There was no CNC in regular use and there was no wire or sinker EDM in widespread use...these were highly exotic processes fit only for the Gods.

So for precision holemaking in known locations, the jig grinder was king, and when it came to hard machining and exquisitely accurate hole geometry too, the grinder had the advantage over the borer.

Fast forward to the widespread adoption of the CNC mill.
Now the positioning capability of the borer could be approached by the mill, but the ability to process a hard material still could not, so the grinder remained relevant in this niche after the borer became redundant.