What's new
What's new

Would like feedback on my equipment

Road_Clam

Plastic
Hello gents, avid firearms enthusiast , and 20 year CNC vertical mill machinist by trade. Over the past 5 years been building my basement workshop to hopefully enjoy all types of projects post retirement. I'm pretty much self sufficient as I have a deep inventory of shop tools. 11x29 lathe, 4x18 mill , TIG welder , MIG welder , metal bandsaw, torches , and a 3D printer . Very good with CAD and Mastercam . I'm "good" with a lathe , not "great". I'm more proficient on the mill side of machining. Spent the last few months with major upgrades to my lathe, added a 2hp 1500W VFD system, and a DRO system. Just finished fabbing a spindle spider, and modded my steady rest to bearings. i'm quite confident that I have the resources and skills to conquer barrel threading , but my primary concern is do I have the adequate equipment to tackle precision barrel chambering ? Asking the experts to critique my equipment and offer some advice. I have NO problem investing in chambering tooling IF I have adequate equipment. Thanks in advance for your help. Here's pics of my lathe :

IMG_20230311_152214900.jpg

IMG_20230311_152232917.jpg

IMG_20230311_152225857.jpg

You've got a nice start. Your lathe is light duty I'm sure you are aware. That doesn't mean you can't do some decent work with it with some practice and patience. Go for it.

Be careful around that spider. You should make a guard for it. Stuff like that will jump out and chew you up if it gets a chance.

You've got a nice start. Your lathe is light duty I'm sure you are aware. That doesn't mean you can't do some decent work with it with some practice and patience. Go for it.

Be careful around that spider. You should make a guard for it. Stuff like that will jump out and chew you up if it gets a chance.