What's new
What's new

Keeping good help

jdowd

Aluminum
What incentives do you use to keep help from jumping ship for $1.00 an hour. With the watering down of the machinist trade thru cnc's it seems to be getting harder to get and maintain good help.

When I was stateside it boiled down to benefits. Insurance, retirement, and other small gestures. Having cookouts and inviting the employees families along then handing out a small cash bonus was a real hit, in fact I still do that here in China. Most people tend to think they should not bond on a personal level with the employees and I have tried both ways but in the end you need to find common ground with each person and let them feel a since of security.

wages

What incentives do you use to keep help from jumping ship for $1.00 an hour. With the watering down of the machinist trade thru cnc's it seems to be getting harder to get and maintain good help.
when i graduated from a apprentice machinist program my wage was $13.00/hr
with inflation i have heard it said that would be over $30/hr in 2015. seems to me most machinist leave because of better wages else where.
i make about $23/hr with wages and benefits. kind of sad i make less now in 2015 than i did in 1984

I left Iowa about 10 years ago. I called a molder in Iowa and asked the owner's wife ( I recognized her voice ) what they would pay for a journeyman mold maker. She said about $13 or $14 dollars. Goodbye Iowa.
They may say it is for a dollar raise but you can bet there are other criteria including the level of inter-personal environment in the shop.