What's new
What's new

What are people using? Swiss lathes.

William Payne

Cast Iron
I am in the research phase of bringing Swiss lathe capability into my workplace.

It's not a common capability here in New Zealand, so I am a bit out of the loop regarding what machines people are using around the world.

I would very much like to hear about what others are using and what their likes and dislikes are.

I would be looking at using these machines for high quantity machining and also applying the capabilities to intricate low volume parts.

Since price goes up exponentially with size and they can cost from $60k to $600k, I think you need to list a target size range to get the detailed answers you are looking for.

I've had some experience several years ago with Citizen, Tsugami, and Star Swiss type machines. All were very capable and high quality. Of the three, Citizen was the one I liked best. That was primarily due to their tool setting/touch off routines. Made for faster setting up than the others.

My experience is with Citizen only, several different models, currently it's an A20. I do a lot of R & D stuff on it, and also (very) short-run production. Like, maybe 20 pieces range of short. And the cycle times are long; right now the part I'm doing is 86 minutes. WTF! you say? I get a complete long skinny turned part with 64 radial holes (.27mm dia) in 8 arrays and tiny RH and LH helical grooves, all with tight position and clocking allowances done in the one setup. The rig cost approx. US$ 160K.

I would find out what companies have a presence in NZ first.
Or does no-body stock parts or service personel there?

----------------------

I am Ox and I approve this h'yah post!

Since price goes up exponentially with size and they can cost from $60k to $600k, I think you need to list a target size range to get the detailed answers you are looking for.