What's new
What's new

Having a tough time in my machine principles class

sovietspy47

Plastic
Having a tough time and getting a bit discouraged. I have never worked in a machine shop but am interested in learning the trade. I currently work in a factory that manufacturers amorphous cores so I really have zero background in machining. I feel like a lot of my classmates are picking up on things faster than me, I know at least some of them work in the trade. I keep forgetting what different tools are called, today I messed up on my project for the second time and drilled one of the holes too big because I was reading the diameter for the wrong hole in the blueprint, so I couldn't thread it which means next week I have to make a new hole. I had basically forgotten how to use the drill press (in my defense it's only my 2nd time using) has anyone else struggled this much learning the trade? Any advice?

First off, some friendly advice - consider first impressions and how you introduce yourself to people. Perhaps choosing a handle of "Soviet Spy" isn't the best idea...

Two, if you're still in public school, check into whatever they offer for learning issues assessment. Don't wait to find out if you have ADD, visual difficulties such as dyslexia, or any other issue that makes learning more difficult for you. Please do this, it will repay you in your life travels a thousand fold.

Three, take home drawings and the like (with permission) and study them on your own time. Learn to focus-in on the critical features and how to avoid the easy mistakes that make a machinist's life miserable.*

[*Like becoming a machinist**]

[**I kid]

Four, check out the billions of Youtube videos on machining. Immerse yourself in the more technical ones, and read the comments to help spot tips or errors that may have been presented in the video content. Fellow machinists are quick to ridicule, I mean help, when a error is made or something can be done better.