What's new
What's new

New to me Hendey Lathe

Mau5trap91

Plastic
New to PM so first off hi everyone.
Just traded a furnace install for a 1920ish 16x8 Hendey conehead lathe, was in the market for a new project and the guy had it buried in car parts so I figured it was worth asking if he would part with it.
It has an under powered 3/4 horse on a 3 speed tractor transmission, the mount won’t let you switch speeds due to location, and it needs some tlc but it spins free.
I found a few numbers on it in various locations but can’t find anything stamped in the ways.
Going to get it oiled up and swap out the motor and I figured this may be a good place just to document the project.
Attempting to upload pictures

New Hendey lathe

First off I’m new to PM so hi everybody.
Second attempt at this post, not sure what happened the first time.

I just recently installed a furnace for a guy and took a Hendy 16x8 conehead lathe as partial payment as he just had it sitting in a barn half covered in car parts and figured he may part with it. It seems like a pretty good deal as it came with a steady rest, tapper attachment, 3 chucks, the plate, and plenty of tooling.
The 3/4 ho motor that runs it goes through a 3 speed transmition and due to where it is mounted is only usable with the slowest belt speed. It spins SLOW. I’m new to lathes of this age and have seen a few threads on max rpm but was just curious if there was a “go to” motor rpm/hp that would match the intended line shaft speed as best as possible. I’ll have to rework the transmission and mounting as the 3 speeds are so close together they may as well be 1.
I’ll try to post a few pictures, I just unloaded it in the snow so I haven’t been able to get too many yet. Found a few numbers in various locations but no serial on the ways as I’ve read there should be.