What's new
What's new

Help! Shop trying to bring cad/cam inhouse

mawgs

Plastic
I was recently hired by a CNC shop to bring Cad/Cam in house. For my background I'm an mechanical engineering student with 3d modeling/printing experience. So far the shop has tried bobcad but no other program. The owner of the company wants to use the software for 2.5 and 3 axis A-00 brother machines. We have several brother 321n machines and a few of the speedios. The owner wants the cad/cam software to take a pdf and vectorize it straight into a geometry and then into the post with very little hand writing of code. Is this feasible? So far i've used bobcad to write one program and it was a hassle. I'm used to fusion 360 and autodesk products which might be why bobcad is giving me such a hard time. Any advice for a noobie like me is much appreciated.

The owner wants the cad/cam software to take a pdf and vectorize it straight into a geometry and then into the post with very little hand writing of code. Is this feasible?

PDF files can be comprised of vector, bitmap and ASCII elements. Anything in the pdf that is vector based can be made into a cad (dxf,dwg) file which can then be used in a cam program to create your g-code. Naturally this only applies to 2.5D.

I'd used pdf2cad for years and recommend it. Fast and easy to use.