What's new
What's new

Looking for

rbdjr59

Cast Iron
Default Looking for simple cheap 2D CAD

After reading several threads I realize that what I need is something very simple as all I am doing is generating drawings for machine foundations and simple repair parts for my equipment. I am a concrete contractor who specializes in machine foundations. I am spending too much time with a pencil and a ruler making drawings for my clients to approve. Most of the machine foundations are for machines that are used and often don't have any factory drawings to go by. Even when I do have such drawings the owners often wish to make changes to better fit their operations. The factory drawings most often don't show reinforcing and I add that as well. I will draw up chip conveyor trays and show top and side views and that is about it. I also will draw parts such as shafts with threaded bores or O.D.'s to make repair parts for my equipment. I don't anticipate needing to grow into Autocad or solid works and I'm getting a little old to dedicate that kind of time to this now. Can some of you guys who are immersed in this field give me some advice on a simple and cheap software to use?img_0083.jpgdscn2485.jpg

I really wish there was a mod so we could just sticky a note at the top of this forum. Every week, this same question.

If you're looking for free cad go get Fusion. There is no comparison in that price range.

Draftsight is very easy and free, also. Very much like the old Autocad 14. I think it will fit your needs for what you are planning to use it for. It is what I use to draw up brackets and such for for custom trailer parts, side steps for my truck and even bird houses.

An EZ Solution

I might suggest EZ-CAM. They have stepped it up with CAD. Their CAM software is extremely simple to use, but yet powerful enough to make sure there aren't any details missing. It's worth checking into.