What's new
What's new

Winchest 101 problem, how to take it apart?

SND

Diamond
Winchester 101 problem, how to take it apart?

I've got a japan made winchester model 101 over under that may have something broken or too much dirt in the sear/firing pin mechanism.
I found an exploded parts drawing, looks like there's a bunch of bits in there to make it work and that switch to change which barrel fires.
Have any of you opened one of these up, or a model similar? how much of a nightmare is it to get back together, any special tools or such required before I consider opening it to take a closer look? I'm hoping its not one of those things where you take out a screw and a dozen bits and springs fly everywhere...

I'd say this is very much a "If you have to ask, you probably shouldn't" type enquiry.

While I'm no professional gun plumber, I have taken many firearms apart (and put almost as many back together:) )

If it has great value to you, send it to someone who does it for a living, with a blank cheque.
If you're willing to write it off (but hopefully not) Go smooth, be methodical. Guns are just tools like anything else.

Oh, and yes, there are springs. Drop your firing pins before taking it apart!

I'm no help on disassembly but I did have a 30 year old, at the time, Winchester 101 20ga skeet gun that started to double. It hadn't been shot that much but the lube inside was also 30 years old.

I took it to a gunsmith who disassembled and cleaned it which fixed the problem. He didn't comment on difficulty and didn't charge me much which leads me to believe it must not have been that difficult.

Well, turns out there's not much to these things, just unscrew the stock (long flat screw driver) and trigger guard screw and off she goes.
All looks good and its way cleaner than I expected, but all dry so I'll still give it a little eezox.