What's new
What's new

Sub Plate recommendations

Fal Grunt

Titanium
Looking to put a sub plate in the Brother for several reasons. Looking to protect the table top, looking to setup ball locks as money allows, to decrease setup time, and then hopefully I will finally take the time to model in my setups.

Question is.... Do I plate the whole table, or just the middle area where I put vises?

Brother (according to literature) recommends plating the whole table to install their 4th axis.

Next question is, the table top of the S1000 is 43.3" x 19.7". Travel is 39.4" x 19.7"

I am hesitant to get a full size plate and have to move the plate to hit the ends? Biggest face mill I have is a 3", will have to get some aluminum inserts for it.

I have little experience making subplates, I've helped machined a couple, but the design/layout work was done, and we did them on a bigger machine for a smaller machine. I appreciate any advise given.

thanks

This is a topic I am very interested in as well.
Because, if I end up keeping my Brother, I am going to HAVE to implement a different set-up strategy.
No way I will be able to just keep setting it up the same way I do it now in the HAAS's. (I probly should have done this years ago, LOL)

Now, I have made several sub-plates myself. I always use 1.5" MIC6. It works fine. But, it is fragile!
It may however let you fart around with table lay-outs before you drop real coin on a proper sub-plate.

A 7075 1.5” plate for the area I put the vises is $325. Just guessing, waiting to hear the price for the whole table, should be around $650

If you end up going with 7075, I would be curious to see if you have any problem with corrosion. I had some of this stuff on a garage floor and it ended up getting wet with road salt. Over time, there were pits nearly 1/4" deep and I ended up scrapping the stuff. Don't think a softer alloy would have been that bad.