What's new
What's new

Calculating surface feet ball nose tooling

primeholy

Aluminum
Hello. I am a programmer at a forge plant. Our dies are made out of Finkel grade 2(fx2) material. We have been using the same F.R. and rpms for 6-7 years now. My boss is wanting me to optimize our cutting parameters. Do you guys/gals have any suggestions on calculating surface feet and recommended doc/stepover for die steels? Any good resources?

Basically your surface feet per minute decreases to zero at the cutting tip. In other words, use the standard formula RPM/3.82 X Cutter Diameter, but instead of the actual cutter diameter, you can approximate the diameter at the actual point of contact of the tool. If you are using the absolute tip, the diameter approaches zero and that is why you will see rubbing and tip degradation. There are some ways around this. First, if you have the opportunity, approach the surface from the bottom rather than the top. This will move the point of contact out from the tip, increasing the SFM. Second, most shops that are doing a bunch of surfacing, use tools other than traditional ball endmills. For instance, any sort of bull endmill. There is also a growing trend to use barrel tools for steep surface and large radius lense tools for shallow surface. These have a twofold advantage of increasing the SFM and increasing the effective radius to produce a finer surface finish with a larger stepover. Mastercam (and I'm sure others) has done a good job of using these new tools in their multiaxis surfacing routines.