What's new
What's new

Machine Shop manager position offered. < question>

timetraveler77

Plastic
Hi fellow Machinists,
Here my situation.
I'm an experienced manual machinist with over 15 years working in the shop and overall 20 in manufacturing.
Been employed for about 5 years for this company that works in the energy field (power plants and such) where there is high margin in profit.
Company has about 40 workers and three departments.
Machine Shop (no cnc) has about 4 Manual Machinists and 2 apprentices, the actual lead guy is about to retire in a couple of years anyway he is not gonna be in charge anymore.
The general manager recently let me know that they wanted to offer me the Machine Shop Manager position ( + tool crib )
I have some concerns about authority, being backed up by upper management since one of the apprentices, his dad is friend with the owner, spends most of the time hiding and on his phone, and the 2 older machinists do pretty much what they want.
I know I am gonna have to square this up with management and my question for guys with management experience is.
What's the average pay for that Machine Shop and tool crib manager ? ( an expd machinist makes about $25 )
Been reading a lot and i see wages between $35/$45 hourly.

Thanks

My experience is that "management" implies a salary position.

Negotiate on the annual compensation. They will ask for body blood and soul. If you are willing......for a price.