What's new
What's new

Breaking into Machinist market as beginner

silveroranges

Plastic
Too long, don't want to read:
I am looking to become a machinist. I have some basic hand tools, but barely any experience outside of a high school shop class, and a full time job I can't quit. I can do nights/weekends if that is what it takes. My local area does not offer any good vocational schools that I could find, and the cost of living is high and work ethic in general in Miami is extremely poor. I want to move up north but would like to do that with a trade I can live off of. What do you suggest? I am about to just find a list of all the machine shops in my area, and email each one asking if I can work nights, and weekends sweeping floors or whatever, in exchange for getting experience.

Toilet time version:
I am 26, male, not married, with a mediocre job. I don't like my job, but it is steady, and easy, if a tad annoying because of dealing with lazy people. I have a degree in computer networking. I have always been into making stuff, took all 6 woodworking and machine shop classes in high school as well as an autocad class, and mechanical drawing. I would like to learn machining. I can do the basics, at least I could in high school. I built a 3D printer from scratch, not a kit but actual pieces, modeled it out in fusion360. Working on building a CNC milling machine, I have the frame done but I am having trouble finding a spindle within my budget that will be rigid enough to let me to cut metal. I have been reading a lot of posts on this forum and get the feeling that a lot of machinist jobs are actually just people doing assembly line automation, or button pushers. I don't want a job like that. I wouldnt mind as an entry level, but not forever. I am extremely good at problem solving, and I want to put that to use. The job I am in now is basically a button pushing job, and looking at my coworkers, mostly older people who have either given up on life or are about to retire