What's new
What's new

Just joined excited about getting helpful feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonatagoodcar

Plastic
2005 Hyundai Sonata (4 cylinder)

1. Purchased Sonata for $600.00 with broken timing belt, I had forgotten about interference engine technology.
2. Replaced timing belt, Sonata runs rough.
3. Perform compression test: cylinder's 1-2 no compression, cylinder's 3-4 good compression.
4. Removed cylinder head; purchased 4 exhaust valves and 4 intake valves to replace bent valves, cleaned cylinder head and surfaces.
5. Perform valve lapping and install new valves.
6. Install cylinder head
7. Engine cranks over but doesn't start
8. Go out another day to redo compression test 2 cylinder's with no compression and 2 with good compression.
9. Go out another day engine does not crank over, new battery, does not crank over, it just has a loud click!

I have been working on cars all my life. I was a mechanic in the National Guard and I worked full time for the NG in Atascadero. I attended Allen Hancock College in Santa Maria for Auto Mechanics (4.0 GPA 1 semester) I feel like I am a good mechanic but I have worked in Construction for the past 30 years.

Why would the engine crank over but now it is locked up?
Why would there not be compression in 2 cylinder's?
I appreciate all responses!!
Thank you
D.J.

Did they change the name to Practical Mechanic and not tell me?

*THIS* is why you never put an ad in the Yellow Pages..

Most people think that MACHINE shops and MACHINISTS only deck cylinder
heads, Bore cylinders, Do valve jobs and Grind Cranks.. And the really
really really good ones also port heads.

There is nothing else in the world made out of metal, or that needs machining.