What's new
What's new

What CNC machine should I get?

keethan

Plastic
Hi guys,

I am a mechanical engineering intern whose just stepping into CNC. My task is to get find a CNC machine for my company to start using. I was looking into a Haas VF2SS, VF-2 or a Super mini mill 2. I was wondering do you guys recommend any 3 axis machines within a 50k-55k limit. Our main concern is that is has to be user friendly and support must be good. I like these 2 Haas machines cause I see a lot of industry professionals using it, and I really like the Haas videos that show how to use it.The machine must also have ability to do mist coolant and have an auger.

Thank you

Any of the Haas machines you mentioned would be a good starting point. I generally buy the smallest/ least expensive machine that will fit the part; and then buy multiple machines. Others buy larger machines and fixture multiple parts. Haas service and training is second to none, and virtually world wide. There are better, faster and more rigid machines out there, but Haas hits a pretty good compromise of price, ease of use, machining capability and durability. I’ve bought about thirty of them (including a half a dozen with my own pesos) and have not had many issues.

Hi guys,

I am a mechanical engineering intern whose just stepping into CNC. My task is to get find a CNC machine for my company to start using. I was looking into a Haas VF2SS, VF-2 or a Super mini mill 2. I was wondering do you guys recommend any 3 axis machines within a 50k-55k limit. Our main concern is that is has to be user friendly and support must be good. I like these 2 Haas machines cause I see a lot of industry professionals using it, and I really like the Haas videos that show how to use it.The machine must also have ability to do mist coolant and have an auger.

Thank you

What do you plan on machining with it? Mostly aluminums, plastics? Large or small parts? Will the users be new to machining/cam?