What's new
What's new

Titanium Machining Troubles

PegroProX440

Hot Rolled
I am working on an order of 25 parts made out of Ti 6Al HTa. I have only machined Titanium a few times so I am no expert.

The dimensions of the finished part will end up being (Inches) .25 X 1.522 X 21.640 with a fairly loose tolerance of +- .005. The Stock measures .4 X 2. X 22.

I am having a hell of a time keeping it flat on the .250 thickness. Currently held in two kurt vises and jack screws under in a few spots.

I am using generic end mills at this point but will probably order titanium specific tomorrow.I am considering building a fixture as well so I can clamp it against a solid plane and play the musical clamp game for a while.

I guess my question is, does any one have any tips on how they would do this, and will this part still spring like a pringles chip once I un-clamp it from the fixture. Would proper tooling help significantly? Machines a Mazak 510C

Thanks in advance fellas!

mill,flip repeat.

Flood the hell out of it,don't let the tool rub or get hot.
And use SHARP TOOLING!

I am working on an order of 25 parts made out of Ti 6Al HTa. I have only machined Titanium a few times so I am no expert.

The dimensions of the finished part will end up being (Inches) .25 X 1.522 X 21.640 with a fairly loose tolerance of +- .005. The Stock measures .4 X 2. X 22.

I am having a hell of a time keeping it flat on the .250 thickness. Currently held in two kurt vises and jack screws under in a few spots.

I am using generic end mills at this point but will probably order titanium specific tomorrow.I am considering building a fixture as well so I can clamp it against a solid plane and play the musical clamp game for a while.

I guess my question is, does any one have any tips on how they would do this, and will this part still spring like a pringles chip once I un-clamp it from the fixture. Would proper tooling help significantly? Machines a Mazak 510C

Thanks in advance fellas!