What's new
What's new

VFD for 400v motor in wye/star configuration (EU)

PeteDenmark

Plastic
Hello.

Sorry for this total newbie question, but knowledge about this was beyond what the old timey electricians out here in the swedish sticks could answer (i realize my handle is Pete Denmark. I am danish, but live in Sweden :) ).

I have hurt my back, so i'm bound to a wheelchair for now, som changing belts on my pillar drill press, to alter speed, is near impossible.

So i wanted to install a VFD. It's a 1000W 50 hZ 400v 3-phase machine (4-pole 1400 RPM).

I was watching all kinds of tutorials, but it seems all the people posting from outside the US have wired their 3 phase motor in a Delta configuration, so their motor will accept 3x230v power.
My machine however, is a hardwired 400v in a Wye/star configuration - no delta possible.

So my total newb question is:
Can i just buy a 1.5kW 400v 3-phase VFD and hook that up? My guess is yes, since power draw is power draw no matter how the electricity goes over the windings, and as long as the output current from the VFC matches the input current on the moter, things should work, but i'm totally unfamiliar with the intricacies of VFD (numerous YouTube videos have given me SOME idea), so i figured i would ask the experts, before spending money.

Thank you for your patience :).

Last edited:
You could post a photo of your motor data plate and a shot of the connection block, so we could see what your working with. Is this statement really true?

is a hardwired 400v in a Wye/star configuration - no delta possible

Can you tell us what your supply voltage and configuration is?

SAF Ω

You can program a 230v vfd for 230v 35hz and run your motor and get full torque up to about 2/3rds of nominal rpm, and you'll have no problem if you don't need a lot of power, you can get about half a hp or 400 watts out of your 1kw motor at 1750 rpm.