What's new
What's new

Looking for advice on which machine to purchase as a first/learner

paradigmshift

Plastic
I'm hoping I'm not going to offend by asking this lol but I've been obsessed with cnc machining for a couple years now, and it's time I start looking to buy. Budget is 20k or less, so its definitely going to be used. I'm just needing advise on what to be looking at.

List of desires:
1) As rigid as possible (speed is less important to me than quality)
2) Work area over 30x20, doesnt need to be huge
3) Would love an ATC, I'll be making money with it, but there is very little chance I'll make more than my career job, so I'd like it to be able to run somewhat while I'm at work
4) Its going to be a learner, so a controller that isn't ridiculously difficult to pick up, and plenty of available information on it would be nice
5) As serviceable as possible, im a commercial/industrial electrician by trade, and a hobbyist fabricator on the side, with over a decade of car building for fun...I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty to fix something, as long as proprietary parts are either at a minimum or readily available

That's about it.

For reference, I've been looking at Fadal 4020 as an option. Is there any other machine I should have my eyes out for? I live in the PNW, so local probably isn't going to be an option, shipping is pretty much a given, so not a deal breaker.

Thanks guys! About to find out if y'all are n00b friendly

Where in the PNW are you? East of the mountains or west? Not that hard to find a good used machine west of the mountains, include Portland in your search. East of the mountains, yeah, harder.

Regards.

Mike

If you intend on making any money with this machine, you really should strongly bias toward an ATC. Making parts of any consequence without one is maddening. BTDT.

Regards.

Mike

I'm on the west side, Portland occasionally has some decent stuff, there's currently a milltronics partner 1 for 6500 bucks down there.