What's new
What's new

Explain Thread Micrometers to Me

munruh

Hot Rolled
I have no experience with those shars mics but you need anvils, and on these the standard is also important (the standard is not like a normal mic standard) you'll need a couple different sets of anvils to cover the range of pitches, same if you want to do Whitworth.

I think you can check it on one set of anvils and then safely swap out (to Whitworth for instance) but I'm not totally sure

As you may know, a single set of Mitutoyo anvils will work in all of their frames. Unlike the cheapies, they're nicely made. The anvils stay properly seated while still being free to rotate, the adjustments are precise, and so on.

Once you get beyond 0-1" be sure each mic comes with the thread standard.

You DO need to have the proper pair of anvils to cover the thread range being measured. Even then, the anvils on all these types are an approximation of the perfect thread form. Good enough for most work. Maybe not precise enough for some specs.

What sizes do you need? I may have some extras in Mitutoyo or Brown & Sharpe etc.

I actually was wanting to purchase 0-1, 1-2, and 2-3 thread micrometers. Let me know if you have anything you would like to sell.

I have a 0 to 6" set from Shar's. They have never let me down. Oh and a 6 to 7" Insize. If you buy used, make sure you get the complete anvil set and a standard. Most anvils cover a range of pitches. Choose the correct one and install them in the mic. Doesn't matter which way. Zero the mic with the standard placed between the anvils. You have to unlock the movable anvil holder and push it tight to the anvil when at zero. You'll get used to it soon enough. You are now ready to use them in the same way you'd use a regular mic. Keep the mic as close to parallel as possible. Check it by going one thread out both ways with just one anvil. The smallest reading is the one you want.