What's new
What's new

Questions about grinders

ygolohcysp

Plastic
Hello. I've got a background of being a hobby machinist at home with a 1954 Bridgeport and metal lathe. I've read and watched videos about grinding, but have never done so. I work as an industrial/mechatronics mechanic/technician, also learning to program PLC's. Because of my background, work has posed the question about whether we should get a grinder. The place I work makes shredders among other things, and cutters have typically been subbed out, but we're trying to bring more things in house.

So, I've been asked if this particular grinder is worth it, being made in Taiwan and all.
https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/62364054

I'm fairly certain they are looking at that one because of the size of the objects we'd need to grind. I know old Clausing machines are good, not sure about the current ones. Any alternatives in that size range?

I'm sure I'll be doing a lot more reading about grinding to give them accurate information, but is there anything that isn't obvious to a grinding noob that would be a consideration in hidden costs, considerations?

Thank you in advance for any info.

Maybe I missed it but I don't see a magnetic chuck listed. No experience with this machine.

While you can mount fixtures directly to the table, if you're grinding for flat you need one. I prefer the fields running crosswise .

Dave

It's going to depend upon your expectations and requirements. Are you certain you need all the 40" of table travel to grind your products? That increases the price of the grinder & wheels quite a bit.

Next would be whether you really need CNC controls or is semi-automatic good enough?

How about expected level of accuracy? Flat or are there forms/profiles to account for too?