What's new
What's new

Is this there I get shunned for buying a Bridgeport clone?

MikeHawk

Plastic
I have very little experience using a vertical mill but I have always wanted one. I grew up with a smaller old southbend lathe. Hand me down from a great uncle, have the original hand written receipt from 1942. Anyways my starting budget was as little as possible and at $150 this machine hit the nail on the head. If I get some skills and it occupies more of my hobby time I might invest in an actual Bridgeport but for now I have a few projected I wanted to tackle myself as learning projects. The table is in pretty good shape (has original track marks?) and the ways look like they have hardly any wear. The shop I got it from said it had been used as a glorified drillpress most its life for drilling and tapping aluminum extrusions, basically setup a clamp and stop and go to production mode. Which makes sense because the head does look like it has the most wear of the machine. As far as I can tell it is a Taiwan made clone. The plate on the motor shows it is made there. But I can not find any markings on the mill itself. I was wondering if anyone has any idea on the brand. I am thinking it might be a Pilgrim because I have seen Pilgrim brand mills online that have the same motor but the square knee support and tower looks different from anything I can find. It seems like a J series head with some metric and some standard threads. I need to order some clutch pins and a collet set screw, other than that it is functional, as far as I can tell.

Mill.jpg

The Asian copies I have used and own are nicer than a "real" Bridgeport.

I never thought a Bridgeport was much to get excited over. I don't expect they were ever anything spectacular, they just made a cubic shitload of them. Excello's are hell of alot nicer than a BP. Cincinnati made a shitload of knee mills in a much higher class than Bridgeport. But the Bridgeport name stuck and that's what everyone knows them as.