What's new
What's new

Respraying Polane?

TomBoctou

Hot Rolled
I've got a mill that needs a bit of touchup to its Polane B (Sherwin Williams isocyanate) paint job.
Don't ask why I care, I just do.

Does anybody know how to spray Polane over Polane? Can I get away with lightly sanding the surface and respraying the top coat? Do I need to re-prime it? Is it possible to get good adhesion to Polane at all?

I tried calling Sherwin Williams tech support, but they've gotten touchy about the really toxic stuff and wouldn't talk to me about Polane if I didn't have an account with them.

The body shops don't use Polane. It has a very high chemical resistance - cheaper paints (Rustoleum for example) just don't stick well to it. I've never tried to respray it before, so I just don't know if it'll get a good bond to itself.

If it was a normal auto paint then I'd do just like you say. I don't know that Polane won't respond to the same treatment, but I'm hoping someone else has had either success or failure doing it before I try it.

Id imagine itd be fine as mark suggests. Only thing id add is preclean (solvent based) before scuffing, wipe again, tack down then have at it. Industrial 2k is usually sticky af.
At a glance theres plenty of data out there, just google the application guide.

If it was a normal auto paint then I'd do just like you say. I don't know that Polane won't respond to the same treatment, but I'm hoping someone else has had either success or failure doing it before I try it.
I resprayed the inside of my lathe enclosure and it didn't hold up all that great anyhow.

I would never do that again. It's just paint, who cares. Match it with automotive enamel or something. Polane is some truly bad stuff.

Your lungs, your decision.

With appropriate ventilation and suitable Rppe, his lungs will be at all but zero risk.