What's new
What's new

Asking for Some Advice/Help SB Heavy 10 Threading

mitchapalooza88

Plastic
Hello all,
I have probably tried this about 15 times and never gotten a single point thread to work. I am starting to wonder if my lathe might have metric gears because the thread will always start but then it binds like its slightly the wrong TPI.

I'm still learning the ropes here but I have watched just about every you tube tutorial on the web and from an operational stand point I think I am doing it right.

My last thread I tried is a 2 1/4-8 and sure enough it bound up.

IMG_0762.jpg

can you verify the pitch using a pitch gauge? If not, a dial indicator should tell you if the spindle rotates in one inch of carriage movement. Or some plasticine/ playdoh and a ruler.

If the pitch is correct, what are you using to determine fit? Is it a spindle nose protector? If you're making stuff for your spindle, then making a go-gage using thread wires will make your life alot easier, rather than having to take the chuck off, turn it around and see if the threaded piece you're making threads on. My guess is that the pitch is correct but the threads have not been cut deep enough.

I would verify the pitch with a pitch gauge if you have one. Dial indicator to measure travel per revolution as mentioned above. Or scratch a standard pitch and compare it to a bolt you have.

If the pitch is wrong I would read through this thread about a flipped gear on the leadscrew. It is for a 9A so I am not sure you can do the same thing on a heavy 10 but worth checking.

Strange threading problem

I am not sure what threading bar you are using for the 2 1/4 8 internal thread but if it’s the carbide insert type, it might not have the clearance for that course a thread. I have one that looks like it will work but will thread the first thread perfectly and then rub just enough to not cut the rest of the threads deep enough. Worth checking as well.

Hope this helps.

Ben