What's new
What's new

Setting up new lathe chuck

GOOG

Plastic
I'm new to this forum. I am concerned that I am under qualified to be here.

A little background:
I graduated high school in 1976. I spent every minute I could for those four years in the metal shop. I could weld steel, got pretty good on a LeBlonde lathe and ran a Bridgeport quite a bit. I was away from machine shop equipment for a while until about ten years ago I purchased a Bridgport milling machine and a Monarch 10EE lathe. I am an excavating contractor. I enjoy fabricating "dump truck parts" and use my small shop for that purpose. When I purchased the lathe, it came with a 6" 3 jaw chuck and a 6 jaw chuck. I have a Hardinge collet chuck as well. I have been wanting a 4 jaw chuck for awhile. I see them on Ebay and am ready to buy one. It says it is "semi finished". Here is a link to the chuck. 6" 4-JAW LATHE CHUCK w independent jaws w D1-3 adapter semi-finished #0604F0 | eBay

Question:
What is needed to make the chuck ready to be used?

Summation:
I would greatly appreciate any guidance you gentlemen could provide.

Thanks in advance
Tom

I'm new to this forum. I am concerned that I am under qualified to be here.

A little background: