What's new
What's new

Side Milling with a 3" Shell

IronSupremacy88

Plastic
New to the site, hope to find some help. Im new to side milling with a shell mill. I bought a Sumitomo 3" 5 flute shell mill with 90 degree inserts. My current cutting specs are,600sfm 763rpm 0.006fpt 25ipm .04stepover .3depthofcut on 3"thick A36 plate that has been burned out. Im getting a surface finish that looks good, but i can see each step every .3 down. It is cutting like the inserts are not a true 90 but they are. The rake on the inserts is somewhat aggressive. I originally thought it was my depth of cut, but I ruled that out by taking smaller cuts.

Sumitomo Shell mill part #WEZ33000R05
Sumitomo Inserts part #A0MT170508PEER-G

I hope I have explained this well enough to not cause confusion. I've only been programming for a few years now.

Thanks

-Alex

Im not confident with it yet. Do you think I could go the full .12"? I also just tried running a light .005 finish pass to see if it would clean up. But it did not. I can still visibly see the ridges and feel them. Any help or suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Has the A36 been annealed? Or does the burned edge have a hard crust?
With that shell mill you should be able to bury it in A36 or even 4150PHT for that matter.
IF your machine is capable of it.

The ridges are typical of a 90 deg mill, it's almost impossible to not have blend lines.
Slap an indicator on the outer edge of the inserts and rotate the cutter, what is the runout from insert to insert?