What's new
What's new

What Boring Bar Diameter

Texasbowhunter

Aluminum
Plz forgive me with the stupid questions I'm asking while I'm learning some of the fundamentals for the craft...
So I was curious the other day and got to thinking about boring bars and the diameter of the bars as to what be better suited for general all around needs, and to what diameter hole/or depth of hole they should/would best suited for...Since bars are expensive and I am just a novice and can't afford multiple bars I was thinking I may just get a couple to cover most of the bases I may come into contact with from time to time...
Is there a General consensus/understanding on Diameter of the bar in relation to the depth of the hole your cutting?
My thoughts were and they are only thoughts but would a 3/8" dia. bar be used for say up to 1" depth
1/2" be used up to 2"-3" depth
3/4" be used up to 3"-4" depth
1" be used up to 4"-5" depth
being all equal with the diameter of the hole and material
I understand a 1" diameter bar would not go into a 3/4" hole
However if that hole was say 4" deep and had to be within a given tolerance then what size of bar should be used?
Thanks
Paul

it will depend on the material your turning. are you talking about steel?

A good mental reference - twice the diameter = at least 4 times the stiffness - or resistance to chatter. This is directly related to depth used at

Nothing quite as useless as "chatter bar"

Sandvik silent bar for the win!!!! Get several different ends for it and enjoy.
Don

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

The rule of thumb I always heard was 1:4 ratio for bar diameter to extension length. You can exceed that but you have to start doing things to help prevent and dampen chatter.

I always use the biggest bar I can that still lets chips out.

Sandvik silent bar for the win!!!! Get several different ends for it and enjoy.
Don

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

For a newbie starting out ?

I think not, learn on the normal ones.