What's new
What's new

30 HP Rotary Phase Converter

rlsmith58

Plastic
Hi all, I'm a relative newbie to this forum and looking for some help.

I recently purchased an older Fadal VMC 3016, wired 3 Phase. I've looked all over for the transformer to convert it to single phase, but have come up empty or looking at $3000+ pricetag.

I then turned my attention to an RPC to run this and any other machine I may find. I found a reasonably priced 30HP motor in great condition and have studied different solutions, but few go into details I can understand or to match the size of this motor.

One of the latest concerns I've had is the inrush of current to start this beast and whether my load center will support it. I have been toying with using a VFD to start up the idler, then switch to my single phase power with the created wild leg.

If anyone can help with this idea or other options, it would be greatly appreciated.

use an idler to spool up the rpc.

after the idler comes up to speed, connect the rpc to the mains power.

There is a potential problem others have reported: the idler can generate its own voltage if you leave the balance capacitors connected to the idler motor while turning it without mains power applied. This can cause a surge current capable of blowing breakers if they are connected out of phase.

one solution is to spin up the idler motor without any capacitors connected to it. (you can leave the capacitors connected to the mains but not connected to the idler motor, both capacitors will be in series until the 3rd leg of the idler is connected)

so you need 2, 3 phase disconnects. one to connect the idler motor to the mains and the balance capacitors.

one to connect the idler to the downstream 3 phase loads.