What's new
What's new

Kwik-Way boring bar specs

kcumbus

Plastic
Newbie here, hopefully I've posted this in the right place. I'm looking to get setup in my small motorcycle restoration business to be able to bore small cylinders (as small as 1.5" diameter). I'm a fan of the Kwik-Way boring bars, but having a hard time finding specifications for the various models. I realize that these boring bars were discontinued manufacture in 2013. Can anyone guide me to a good Kwik-Way resource site? Or if anyone has recommendations on other equipment, I'd be interested to know. Thank you.

Newbie here, hopefully I've posted this in the right place. I'm looking to get setup in my small motorcycle restoration business to be able to bore small cylinders (as small as 1.5" diameter). I'm a fan of the Kwik-Way boring bars, but having a hard time finding specifications for the various models. I realize that these boring bars were discontinued manufacture in 2013. Can anyone guide me to a good Kwik-Way resource site? Or if anyone has recommendations on other equipment, I'd be interested to know. Thank you.

They prolly made one that small IDK for sure. Mine has an arbor about 2.5" diameter You might be better off with a Sunnen hone like a MBB 1600. They make stones and arbors for any diameter and you can finish the bore to whatever is required,.

The FWH is made for small cylinders. I had one many years ago. It's a marginal unit IMO, the downfeed is air operated and touchy, prone to chatter. The standard tooling sucks, upgrading to a high positive carbide made a big difference. They fetch around $2,000 if you can find one that is is good shape. Although with automotive machine shops folding left and right these days, you might find a deal. You need to join the Speedtalk forum, all automotive based.

try the kwikway website. they still sell manuals and they have a phone number 319-377-9421
i believe, but not certain, the bike bar goes down to 1.75