What's new
What's new

Shop argument! Must have metric ballscrew on cnc lathe to make metric threads?

i_r_machinist

Titanium
I have never heard this before, but I'm being told that you can't make a metric thread on a cnc lathe with an english standard ballscrew, but you can make a english standard and metric thread on a cnc lathe with a metric ball screw. I'm saying this is Bullshit!
Am I wrong?
have fun
i_r_

I have no actual knowledge but my friend with multiple CNC lathes cuts both all the time. It's a freaking computer with high res encoders. The ballscrew could be from Mars and have a pitch of 0.348 times Marvin the Martian's left thumb knuckle and still cut any thread you wanted. But maybe there's some limitation I don't know about?

Well, if it's true, my CNC lathe doesn't know it. I have cut metric threads with an inch ballscrew.

It really doesn't make any sense to think you couldn't do it.

The guy I was argueing with is a cnc maintenance tech and would not take my word for it, even though I've been programming cncs for 40 years!
thanks
have fun
i_r_machinist

Bullshit. Cnc lathes understand Feed, or pitch. Be it in mm or inch. Almost all lathes present today are able to do this.

If you need, say, 8 tpi thread, you can always do as 3.175 mm pitch OR use "inch mode" if default config is mm.

Sent from my Redmi Note 7 Pro using Tapatalk

It's a load of rubbish, all that I guess really matters is that the pitch of the ball screw is consistant along the length.

I have two American built CNC lathes (presumably with imperial ball screws) and one European which does have metric ball screws and both happily cut any thread pitch asked of them.

As above when I need an imperial thread I just specify the feedrate as the pitch converted into metric to keep the programs consistent.