What's new
What's new

Abrasive Machining 001 question

Tom Womack

Plastic
I'm sorry if this is a dumb question; I'm a computer programmer intrigued by manufacture, the biggest bit of equipment I've got my hands dirty with so far is a hand mitre saw, and I have trouble cutting wood to 0.1".

How is it that abrasive machining is so much more accurate than other techniques? I get the impression that milling a surface flat gets you flatness to around 0.001" and surface-grinding it gets 0.0001"; in both cases you're moving the surface around on an X-Y table under a spinning material-removal device.

Surface Refinement

It's actually a missconception that grinding is a whole
universe more accurate.

The original quallity, and tollerance, the machine is made to
regulates the out-come of accuracy.
Of corse, offset by the skill and care of the machinst.

Od / Id grinding, might be the exception, since tenths are often split
in this realm of machining. But again the decideing factor is
the much higher refinement of the surface condition produced.

m1m

Case in point:
Two purchased cast-gage-plates.
One done on a brand-new Big OKK vertical.
One done on a brand-new Big Okamoto grinder.
OKK plate was at-least as flat as the ground plate.
Both operators wanted to win so extreme care was taken
by each, so It's a fair showdown.

Medic, I don't understand your reply. Are you suggesting you can mill or turn something as accurately as you can grind it? Certainly not the case. Not with any repeatability, sure you can polish something to tenths, but thats not practical in any kind of production.