What's new
What's new

Aluminum Grinding

Sjzona

Plastic
Who else grinds aluminum on a regular basis. I work for a tool and blow mold company and for being such a sizeable industry, I can find much info on it at all. Though I've been doing it for about four years, there's still more to learn! Any threads already started? Or if not I'm up for answering questions, we do anything from 20x50 manifolds to .225 shims.

I have tried unsuccessfully several times to grind AL. Just scrap pieces to see what was needed. General points would help what wheel is first?

I've ground the surface of AL blocks a couple of times when I had no other means of ensuring precision greater than a BP could offer. It was 6061 and I had several AO wheels to choose from as well as a SC wheel. Nothing I tried worked very well, the wheels loaded up rather quickly and required frequent dressing. Heat and thermal expansion was another issue as well. I ended the experiment using flood coolant, a coarse SC (green) wheel, and only taking about .0005 total for finishing to dimension. Although doable it was not much of a success in my opinion. I'd enjoy reading about methods others have tried with better/worse results as I still have other projects in mind that would allow me the option when needed.

Regular surface grinder or..? I've ground a fair bit of aluminum in a Blanchard grinder, but that was some years ago. We used 36 grit wheel sections, not sure of bond or anything, but it required frequent dressing, but was very doable.

Regular surface grinder or..? I've ground a fair bit of aluminum in a Blanchard grinder, but that was some years ago. We used 36 grit wheel sections, not sure of bond or anything, but it required frequent dressing, but was very doable.

Mike- Was that OA, carborundum, silicone carbide, or something else wheel sections?

Grinding aluminium