What's new
What's new

Brown Sharpe Micromaster 618 Series I

RobbyWeeds

Aluminum
Proud new owner of a 64 series I. It grinds immaculate, even better than i thought was possible coming from a 6x12 manual grinder with no coolant.

I am having trouble with the cross feed feeling like it is binding up and certain parts of its travel. If i put in in auto feed for one quick movement, it will go away and i can continue feeding. Not sure if it is related but 'dress' traverse (slower of the 2 quick feeds) does not go all the way to the sides of the chuck. It will stop an inch from each side. And the fast feed makes a noise like something is dragging across the leadscrew lengthwise.

Not sure if any of this is normal or if it is just an old machine that sat for very long and now starting to get some use.

Anyway, i am super happy with it even though i have been only using it manually since i picked it up.

I have a MicroMaster series 2 with similar issues. It was terrible when I got it. Went through everything and found an incorrect bracket on the cross traverse screw causing a bind. Fixing that helped a lot but didn't solve it completely.

I think it is due for a rebuild in the cross feed valve, the spools and bores are worn a little, allowing more leakage than should be happening. So the valve is bypassing oil instead of pushing it through into the cross feed piston. Yours may be having a similar issue. Until I get the valve rebuilt, I get around mine by turning the hydraulic pump speed up a little with a VFD, which in effect gives less time for leakage and a sharper push on the piston. I've been running it at 70Hz instead of 60.