What's new
What's new

Decoding Tyrolit wheels

Highfly

Aluminum
Hi all.

I'm a newbie to the surface grinding world and could use your advice. I've already picked up a pile of tips from reading the forums, good stuff!
I have a 2010 Kent Surface Grinder with coolant tank. Automatic 2 Axis with a set spindle speed of 3400 RPM I believe.

I'm grinding 60 Rockwell (M2 tool steel +or-) and am using Tyrolit wheels.
I've ordered some more arbors and want to play around a bit with different stones to make the grinding faster and with better finish. Don't want much do I.

Currently I'm using a ceramic wheel to rough grind with. Tyrolit # 454A461J11v3. I go through all the parts and then come back with a none Ceramic wheel Tyrolit # 89A46J7AV217. This wheel is extremely unforgiving compared to the ceramic wheel but gives a better finish.

I'm having a heck of a time decoding the wheels and can't seem to find anything on line (probably just looking in the wrong place).
The Tyrolit site does tell you in a PDF See here http://www.tyrolit.com/dataarchive/data56/16_pk2008_gb.pdf what stone to use for certain materials but doesn't brake the numbers down.
Is my ceramic wheel a 45 grit and the none ceramic a 89 grit????

Hope I'm not making an ass of myself asking a dumb question..... :o

The first 2 characters are the manufacturers code for their propietary abrasive mix. The 3 rd is the abrasive material , A for aluminum oxide, C for silicon carbide,etc. The 4th and 5th characters are the abrasive grit size. The next, a letter is the bond hardness. The next, a number is the structure and represents a relative measure of open space in the wheel. The next letter is the type of bond, in this case both are V, vitrified bond. The rest is , again a manufactuers code.