What's new
What's new

Depth of Cut - Surface Grinding Dry

Cphockey16

Plastic
Hey guys. Hate to start a new thread but couldn't find anything that quite answers my question.

I'm an apprentice - just started surface grinding recently. I have to finish the length on some 1.25 in pins. I was wondering, do you guys have any strategies for hogging material without coolant? Everything I've ground up to this point I've been taking my time - .0001-.0008 on downfeed per pass. I've got about .040 to take off these pins - using a 46 H 0.5 in wheel. Can I get away with taking .002-.003 a pass while roughing, so long as I let them sit and cool? Or will they get too hot?

Thanks!

Hi,

If you are holding the part upright in v block or collet fixture then I would plunge grind most material off first. Dress your wheel very open.
Ex. position nearly full width of the wheel over the pin, downfeed 0.0005" at a tme and move table from left to right, another 0.0005" and go other way etc. stay about 0.0015" of your go to. Move wheel over another width and do the same until you see surface blending. Redress your wheel and finish to size using standard grinding traverse.

If you notice pins are getting too hot then simply dip the in water between roughing pass.

Kamil

I rough at 0.003" all the time on a J&S 540, with a 0.020" crossfeed, and until I fitted coolant about 3 yrs ago, did it all dry.
These were on larger flat parts though, and plenty of surface area for heat to be conducted away. Pins will definitely get a little warmer :)
An H is a fairly soft wheel - are these hardened pins you're grinding?

We keep a squeeze bottle of water soluble coolant handy and cool the parts every so often to minimize distortion. In a pinch we'll grab a water bottle and just poke a little hole in the top - works fine for the kind of stuff your describing.

I have a large grinder 14x48 10 hp, I only take .001 per pass, anymore the stone degrades...Phil