What's new
What's new

I got a lapmaster how do I use it.

kpotter

Diamond
I picked up an old lapmaster that was sitting outside for about twenty years. I got it running and I put some clover 180 grit on the lap and have been using it to flaten some dies that I make. It seems to work well but the slurry system is shot. I have been glopping the stuff on with a brush and letting it run. I just ordered some 80 grit and some 120 grit powder that I will charge the lap with. I need it to cut faster. I just want the parts flat they dont need to be mirrors. I have never seen one of these run except in a you tube video. I think I am using it correctly. Just wanted to make sure.

I picked up an old lapmaster that was sitting outside for about twenty years. I got it running and I put some clover 180 grit on the lap and have been using it to flaten some dies that I make. It seems to work well but the slurry system is shot. I have been glopping the stuff on with a brush and letting it run. I just ordered some 80 grit and some 120 grit powder that I will charge the lap with. I need it to cut faster. I just want the parts flat they dont need to be mirrors. I have never seen one of these run except in a you tube video. I think I am using it correctly. Just wanted to make sure.

Nice. Id like to get my hands on a lapping machine.
I might be speaking outta turn here (very limited knowledge) but how many plates do you have? If youve a few you could a use diamonds to charge each plate with different grade grits, rolling them in with a bearing.
An 'abrasive free' lube of some sort could be as simple as bucket mounted over head with a inline tap to control flow.

Do you have any pics?