What's new
What's new

Dumore 44 tool post grinder mounting on Logan 400

techymechy

Aluminum
I am pretty new to machining. I purchased a Dumore 44 tool post grinder and I want to mount it to a Logan Lathe.

The grinder works fine except I still need to purchase a number 2 pulley for it. I'll probably have to purchase some wheels for it too. I have one that seems to be in good shape for now.

The grinder is about .135" tall of the spindle center line. Is that a big deal to be that far above the spindle center line?

I can chuck up the tool post stand and remove some of the base to make up some of the difference. I might be able to remove .135" from the base of the grinder base, but this would leave me with about .075" for the flange thickness.

I want to get the tool post grinder set up correctly (or close to it) before I start to grind stuff.

Looking forward to some advice. What would you do?

Dave

IMG-2763.jpgIMG-2762.jpg

Your base is "domed". Mine is flat, and causes no trouble at all. Seems like you could flatten yours, and get what you need.

Mine is also on-center for a 10" Model 200 without being all the way down on the base. A model 400 is a 9", presumably accounting for the issue.

Hi JST,

Yes, the Logan 400 is a 9" lathe. I'll determine if I can get the grinder spindle to be at the same height as the lathe spindle by machining down the dome. I was considering to removing the base material from the flat and leave the dome material, but it might make better sense to remove the dome (or, it might not make any difference).

About how close does the grinder spindle center line height have to be to the lathe centerline height Is like .010" off OK or do you need to be pretty much spot on?

Dave

Last edited: