What's new
What's new

Fine Grinding Velocities.

Hello,
I have question that might be too "overthinking" the problem.
I work at a company that is developing Fine grinding plates.
I am new to this and my coworker/Boss wants to calculate the velocities in the process so that we can create a "small scale" testing apparatus with different grinding materials and develop new abrasives.

Question is, is there a book or info where I can use to calculate the velocities that the parts see during fine grinding operation.

We have a Peter Wolters AC500 as a test bed. if it helps.

Any help appreciated.
Thanks

I am not familiar with the term "fine grinding" except in the sense of "nice finish and accurate dimensions". Is this a special process like "fine blanking", i.e., not just routine surface grinding? Care to explain the process for us?

If you are using a rotating wheel, the surface velocity is the circumference of the wheel times the revolution rate of the wheel. Circumference is PI times diameter. If you are using Imperial units (inches, feet, etc), do not neglect that wheel diameter is usually given in inches while surface velocity is usually given in feet per minute.

I am not familiar with the term "fine grinding" except in the sense of "nice finish and accurate dimensions". Is this a special process like "fine blanking", i.e., not just routine surface grinding? Care to explain the process for us?

If you are using a rotating wheel, the surface velocity is the circumference of the wheel times the revolution rate of the wheel. Circumference is PI times diameter. If you are using Imperial units (inches, feet, etc), do not neglect that wheel diameter is usually given in inches while surface velocity is usually given in feet per minute.

This will help: What is Single & Double Side Fine Grinding? | Lapmaster Wolters There's a link to a video on the page too.

Update - video not that useful, but text is very good.

I don't understand the question.