Finish on cylindrical grinder - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Bruce, A " three penny bit " was a small coin that used to be in circulation in the U.K. when I was a child. It had a multi facited edge. So if you had a bad finish on the diameter, people would say " That's like a three penny bit". If you had a bad finish on the face of a job they would say " That's a finish like an L.P ".

You aren't that young that you don't know what an L.P. is ? I worked in a school for a while recently and when I said that to a lad that had done some really rough turning he said " What's an L.P.? "

Regards Tyrone.

2. Likes TNB, Paolo_MD, ballen liked this post
    Country
    GERMANY
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

OK, my finish is improving (not yet mirror, but getting closer).

- I changed the spindle oil for the recommended Mobil Velocite No 3.

- I dressed the stone VERY slowly, wet

- I moved the coolant nozzle right into the "crease" between work and wheel, as close as I could get it (1mm) without contact.

I have not yet measured the spindle axial play, or gotten the machine off the pallet, but I will do these soon.

Here's a couple photos of the tailstock-mounted diamond. It says 0.46C

I am making a test bar to help me align the machine and get the tailstock right. The test bar will have a short MT5 taper, then 30mm diameter (1 1/4") for 400mm (16"). Before I rough turn this on the lathe, I played around with making the starting length of steel into a cylinder. This piece is 45mm in diameter (1 3/4") and 500mm (20") long.