What's new
What's new

Grinding a groove - need advise on profiling surface grinder wheel with small radius

jj80909

Aluminum
I posted a similar question in the CNC forum and it was suggest that I try it here.

I'm looking for some advice on how to machine some small 17-7 PH stainless parts. The part is made out of 0.040" think sheet with a width of 0.375 and the length varies from 1.500" to 4.000". This is a small run of 50 to 100 parts, but will probably be a regular job. The parts can be machined prior or post hardening.

I need to cut a 90° groove in the tip that is basically 0.020" deep, but there is a small radius at the root with a tight tolerance and the surface finish of the groove needs to be an Ra of 0.8 or better. One of the parts has the groove located 45 degrees to the top surface and the other is at 70°.

It was suggested that I use a profile wheel on a surface grinder, but I have limited skills / knowledge when it comes to grinding. I've basically only used the surface grinder to make parts flat. It was also suggested to rough-in the groove with the VMC and finish grind it.

Is this something a standard grinding wheel / fixture could handle or a profiled wheel? How long should I expect the wheel to last between dressing? How does one go about setting this up?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Attachments

• 45-800.jpg
    45-800.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 252
  • 70-800.jpg
    70-800.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 239
There a several ways to profile a wheel. What really appear to need is a wheel profiled to grind the Vee and leave a radius. Since it is not that large number of parts a dresser like the J&S could do repeatable profiles.

Although they are out of business the website was still working last I went there couple years ago. The instructions were posted there.
You can set an angle R&L, and a radius. Contact me for details if you get one of these, I will help you through the setup.