What's new
What's new

Grinding thin material

Ryanst13

Plastic
Hi guys could do with some help, long story short our old hands have retired/left and left me somewhat in the dark with surface grinding. I’m not a total newbie but I’m stumped here, grinding 90mm dia blades 1mm thick, tolerance is 0.005mm, D2 hardened to 60rc, I’m having major issues with burning and warping, prefer to use the cnc grinder as it’s the only one with coolant, but that doesn’t seem to help much, tried with and without coolant to no real success. I have managed to get one part finished using the manual with no coolant, hit tolerance in places but blade bent out of shape. Using a 46 wheel and settled on 0.01mm doc. I am shimming the high points mag half on, then flipping over, full mag till complete. Any help would be great thanks

What sort of 46 wheel? White, synthetic, hardness? Usually if I get burning and overheating it means the dress is too fine. You should be running the diamond across the wheel at a pretty good clip, once only. You may have to delay at the end of each pass so things can cool down. I'd go half your DOC and flip the part multiple times. Others may have more to say.

My wheel knowledge goes as far as the grit size unfortunately it’s blue 3SG46KVX if that helps any? I’m dressing 0.1 in 2 passes at 1mpm

3" 1/2 x .040 to .0002 D2 hardened to 60rc,
cnc grinder as it’s the only one with coolant, CNC Surface Grinder?
46 grit size, k hardness, ceramic. A very good general-purpose wheel.

that is a fairly tough job. *How much stock to take? what take amount per pass - what step over.

incremental grinding - stepping over with cross at a set down feed dial likely your action.
Stepping cross too much puts a lot of wheel in the action to overheat the surface and drag down RPM.