What's new
What's new

Grinding tool steel & carbide

GTM-

Plastic
What do you do when you need to grind something with a carbide insert brazed into a hardened tool steel?

I just started at a cold heading facility and needed to sharpen a knife and since I'm new to the shop their 20 year veteran tool and die maker went over grinding with me and he pulled out a diamond wheel. Now I was always told never to grind hardened steel or any tool steel on a diamond wheel because it kills the diamond and loads the wheel, but there's the carbide and the generic aluminum oxide wheels won't cut it.. but as we're grinding it's like 10% carbide.

I'm not sure how to properly dress a diamond wheel and he said "you don't really" and it skipped along until it settled itself out and he didn't use coolant either.

My experience with diamond wheels is on baldor grinders grinding micro100 boring bars and then hand dressing radii and honing by hand, and I always soaked the wheel with a mix of varsol and machine oil soaked into a rag pressed up against the opposite side of the wheel, as I was taught because it cleans the wheel really nicely and keeps things cool. they've got diamond cup wheels and they're so loaded from dry cutting and cutting tool steels, I haven't tried them yet but I can't imagine they cut very much in their state.. but I mean, I'm the new guy right so it's really freaking hard to bite my tongue because who am I to tell some dude who's been at this for 20 years that he's doing it wrong? Or maybe I'm wrong? I mean, I use diamond plates to take edges off hardened steel, but thats by hand, and not at the speeds of a grinding wheel, which as I understand causes enough heat to chemically destroy the diamond bonded into the wheel, rendering it useless.