What's new

Hardend D2 Material grinding wheel selection

Gutsy02786

Plastic
Hi every one
I have v.m.c machine
But i have a workpiece in which..
I have to grind hardend d2 material its hardness is 60 -62 hrc
High carbon and high chrome so please suggest me which type grinding wheel i have to prifer for it

Some one told me go for diamond type grinding wheel some says cbn wheel but i have zero knowledge in grinding wheels so please suggest me which type of gride size of abrasive i have to choose

Thanks in advance ...👍

No on diamond although if all you have on hand you may be able to make it work.
CBN in fancy and expensive wheels but why not just a conventional and much cheaper normal grinding wheel.
CBN wheels are not easy to make work right if you do not have experience and the right grit/bond not to mention dressing and stick. These best used in high production settings in this material.
I'd be in a soft normal type white wheel. Grit? Have no idea as I do not know stock, grind type, and finish numbers.
One part, twenty parts, 50,000 parts?
D2 in this range grinds nicely, it does like coolant.
It can also be hard turned or hard milled.
Bob

tool steel is hard to grind, the right wheel for this would be a silicon carbide grinding wheel. plenty of coolant as it will crack, aluminum oxide wheel will require dressing every part and will glaze which causes cracks, due to heat build up. check with the local sales engineers,
cbn is for high alloy or carburized parts
diamond works best for carbide

I would agree Peter, other than if there are only a few parts - then a plain 38A works just fine with a few tweaks to process. I was able to recently take about a 1/16" of material per dress on some 60Rc D-2 with no issues (Guy left all that stock instead of rough milling it before HT for some reason). Probably not going to get much farther than that though, and my surface area wasn't very large.