What's new
What's new

Help with an Elliott 921 SG

We have an old Elliott 921 in the workshop thats not seen any use in a while since one of the hoses came off (hydraulic line returning to the tank). Apparently it was working before this.. I've reattached the hose and been having a play with it. The cross traverse goes back and forth between the trip dogs but the longitudinal traverse only seems to work in one direction? Even when the trip dogs hit the direction control (or I change it manually) it continues in the same direction :confused: Any ideas where my problem might lie/where to start? (There seems to be a few features not working but to say I'm a beginner would be a massive understatement, so I'll start with the one problem :) elliott.jpg

I don't know about the internals of that machine but one that size is worth some effort. It looks clean too and that's a good sign.

It is probably that you are not pulling the right levers as it sounds like the table is moving to one side and stopping to facilitate putting work on the chuck or taking it off ,it is probably supposed to do this .

There will almost certainly be another lever to set the table reciprocating but the first lever will also need to be in the correct position ,sorry I am not familiar with this machine but they have been discussed on PM before so hopefully someone will know the procedure

tottiecharlottie,
Elliot bought a lot of UK machine tool companies & then produced the same machine with their name on it. They bought Burdett & did exactly that. Tony´s Lathe site has manuals for Burdett grinders & also take a look at this old post from 2011: http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/abrasive-machining/elliott-8-20-surface-grinder-info-222843/

PS, your chosen name is not PC!

Ray