The horror under the chuck - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

First a correction. In my post #14, I said "UNLIKE crazy glue" it should have "LIKE crazy glue". Cyanoacrylates cure with moisture. It is the moisture on your fingers that glues your fingers together (and other parts of your body).

Second item is that if there are silicones in the coolant and the part is to be painted, expect "fisheyes" in the paint. Paint will not stick to silicone.

Tom

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Back when I was an apprentice 45/ 50 years ago we would spread a mixture of red lead powder and oil and spread it under there. As years went by we only used way oil, wiped off the access with lacquer thinner and then squirted industrial silicone around the outside base and filled up the tee slots. To be honest I never saw them under there again. Never had any calls saying it failed either. No news is good news in the rebuilding business. Rich

Country
    GERMANY
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Richard King View Post
    I still think it would be worth testing with a bubble. Your assuming to much here, I have discovered in machine tool rebuilding you can't assume anything, you have to prove it.
    Richard, you were right. I put my two levels on the machine and walked around it. My shifting weight had no effect. Nor did I see any effect when I put the level on the floor and moved the table. So I did your test, first shimming the levels to be centered.

The bubble jumps like mad when the table is shifted, but comes back to rest in exactly the same place. The only time that this does NOT happen is for the last half inch of travel in both directions. I think the table might be coming up against a stop which shifts its orientation slightly.