What's new
What's new

How flat can I surface grind 2x18x27" plate A36?

Lazyman

Aluminum
I have no experience surface grinding and will mill a A36 2x18x27" and will get it surface ground after. I got a quote from a surface grinder saying they can get it flat and parallel to.002" and I was really hoping for .001". Thickness tolerance is very loose it could be plus/minus .05" but I want it as flat and parallels as possible are my expectations too high?

I would think you could have it Blanchard ground and easily hold 0.001" However the material may be your enemy as hot rolled A36 may move like crazy. I don't have much experience grinding A36. That could be why they didn't quote better than 0.002"

May want to choose a stress-relieved material.

Best Regards,
Bob

I was under the impression A36 was hot rolled and not too bad as far as stresses but I could have it stress relieved. Is cast iron plate something that's not too hard to get in that size?

I machine a lot of A36, and it is almost always stress free. I've had some 4" plate that came in with a 1/4" bow over 36" that moved around a bit as we brought it in, but anything under 3" has always been pretty nice.

Blanchard shops usually hold about 1/2 the tolerance they quote IME, and I think as long as you are dealing with a reputable place, you will be happy with the result.

Unless it is for a machine tool app, then you better plan on scraping it in the rest of the way, or finding a shop with a Mattison in good condition.

If you can split it into 2x pieces 9" wide you may get some more quotes. I have a pretty large surface grinder, but it only has 16" of Y travel.

Never will come out right, It will stress relieve on every pass of the grinder, can you weld a grid under the plate to make it stiff?...Phil

I've done a lot of 2-3" x 20x36ish A36 plates that are flat and parallel within .005", usually better. You know A36 is hot rolled right? It's normally not too bad, unless you get some odd ball import material.