What's new
What's new

How loud is too loud for the head of a blanchard grinder

kpotter

Diamond
I have a very very old blanchard grinder 11 16 it works fine and does what I need it to do. I payed 1200 dollars for it. I have been using it everyday for about 2 years. It is loud real loud I wear ear muffs it is so loud you cant scream at the person next to you. The bearing are probably shot. The machine is 1915. I dont know if I can get bearings for it.

We had an old Blanchard at the previous shop I worked at. Something like a 60 HP motor, it took 5 seconds to spool up. Machine was very worn, the table would rise 0.015" if you hit the stop too fast- but it wasn't necessary to wear ear muffs or hearing protection. Loud in comparison to a manual lathe with worn bearings.

Pack them with grease?

Unloaded the spindle should be no louder than any other large electric motor. That motor looks huge, but it's probably only 15hp on a machine that old.

I've not worked on one that old, but the typical bearing layout is tapered roller bearings top and bottom. The bottom is greased, the top runs in its own oil bath. The top bearing will have coil springs to set the preload. You want to replace the springs. Every one I have seen are standard Timken tapered roller bearings. Nothing special.

The real bitch is getting the face plate off the spindle. 100 years of rust and grit could have that thing seized right up.

I would also have the windings checked out with a megger. Grinding grit is incredibly hard on the winding insulation, and those direct drive spindle motors are all open frame.

The spindle really should be just about silent.
The machine is from 1915 (not) or the tag is serial 1915? (confused a bit here, one of my 11s has the WWII tags, and owned Blanchards that predate this)
The bearings are easy to buy. It should not make any noise.
The bottom bearing needs to be filled more often than the top.
Once it gets to this point it will lock up on you one day.